Accept or decline an invitation
A user who is invited to a group channel can accept or decline the invitation. If a user accepts an invitation, they join the channel as a new member and can start chatting with other members. If the user declines the invitation, the invitation is no longer valid.
Users can join up to 2,000 group channels. When the number of group channels a user can join reaches the maximum number, new invitations are automatically declined.
You can set the channel invitation preference for your Sendbird application. The preference determines whether a user can automatically accept a group channel invitation or manually accept invitations. Using the
setChannelInvitationPreference() method, you can determine for users within an application whether they can automatically join a private group channel without having to accept an invitation to join. If the value of
setChannelInvitationPreference() is set to
true, invitations are automatically accepted. If the value is set to
false, users can either accept or decline invitations. By default, the value is set to
If the client app is in the foreground, members of the group channel are notified whether the newly invited user has accepted or declined the invitation. To do so, implement the
onUserDeclinedInvitation() handlers of a channel event handler. For more information, see the event handler page.