Accept or decline an invitation
A user who is invited to a group channel can accept or decline the invitation. If the user accepts an invitation, they join the channel as a new member and can start chatting with other members. If the user declines the invitation, the invitation is no longer valid.
Users can join up to 2,000 group channels. When the number of group channels a user can join reaches the maximum number, new invitations are automatically declined.
You can set the channel invitation preference for your Sendbird application. The preference determines whether a user can automatically accept a group channel invitation or manually accept invitations. If the value of
setChannelInvitationPreference() is set to
true, invitations will be automatically accepted. If the value is
false, users can either accept or decline invitations. By default, the value is set to
If the client app is in the foreground, the members of the group channel are notified of whether the newly invited user has accepted or declined the invitation. To do so, implement
onUserDeclinedInvitation() in the channel event handler. For more information, see the event handler page.