Join and leave a channel
This is only for public group channels where any user can join and chat as a member without an invitation. A user can also leave a group channel, in which the user can't receive messages from the channel anymore.
Join a group channel as a member
A user is allowed to join up to 2,000 group channels. If a user already belongs to a maximum number of group channels, the user won't be able to join another channel. For private group channels, only users who are invited as a member can join the channel.
Leave a channel
A user can leave group channels as shown below. After leaving, the user can't receive messages from the channel, and this method can't be called for deactivated users.